“whenever possible keep it simple”

Today’s fortune was to keep it simple, so I’m going to try to do just that. Today with the help of my neighbor Jilly I’m de-cluttering my apartment. Jilly is a whiz with eBay and has one of those naturally trendy senses of style, it’s so effortless. Thankfully she’s offered to help me for free, guessing she’s also curious to see what’s in my apartment since we have lots of closet space.

So far she’s managed to separate a lot of my belongings into four piles: keep, trash, eBay and goodwill. We’re using something that she read in a book to determine what goes where, “if it isn’t beautiful, joyful or useful get rid of it”. Her motto works for somethings but it doesn’t work for everything, if it has any residues from relationships past it automatically goes in the eBay or goodwill pile.

My collection of shot glasses are now being sold somewhere on eBay due to so many of them being bought while on trips with ex-boyfriends, along with paintings, picture frames, small furniture pieces and other trinkets. The stuffed animals they bought me have all ended up in the trash pile, and some towels, blankets and coats are in the goodwill pile. Thanks to Jilly I’m saying goodbye to Jason, Anthony and Mike.

Jason was my first love, I kept his old postcards and letters, I should hate him since he cheated on me but I let go of that hate a long time ago. We went on lots of road trips together and had fun looking at the yard sales, I was left with lots of junk from that one.

Anthony was the first guy I ever lived with, we shared a small apartment together. There’s a saying that familiarity breed contempt, in our case it was true. We made each other crazy with our bad habits. In the end we ending up splitting furniture and haven’t talked since.

Mike is my ex-fiancée… We’re still friends and I’m going to leave it at that. That’s the hard one to part with, but trying to simplify.

Wish me luck, but hopefully my personal space will be feng shui by the end of the week.

20120523-225021.jpg

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Il mio giornale di bordo

Il Vincitore è l'uomo che non ha rinunciato ai propri sogni.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

50 Year Project

My challenge to visit 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch the top 100 movies

Canderson Click

a canderscopic extravaganza

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

529scout

Photograph-a-holic's style diary

THE {TINY} TIMES

I'm a child. And a blogger.

Love and a Six-Foot Leash

One family's adventures with America's forgotten dogs.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

altrunomics

altruism meets economics

I Broke My Glasses Again

Taking the Hobbits to Isenguard

