Try something new

Last night I ordered Chinese food which I’m sure comes as no big surprise, but that means I have a new fortune to follow…

“Now is the time to try something new

So in an effort to try something new, I sat down last night and made a list of ideas of new ideas to try. On my list so far I have budget, roller-blade, online dating, volunteer, community theater, write a children’s book and ride in a hot air balloon. Riding in a hot air balloon is probably not going to be in the new budget, but I do have roller-blades already and I’ve always wanted to try community theater. For now in an effort to keep it simple, I’m just going to do three things and add the others to the bucket list.

Today I created an online dating profile on a fishing site, I’m a little hesitant about putting up a picture but I did anyway and I started working on my budget. I’d love to read other people’s ideas on creating a budget, so far I have listed all of my monthly bills and tried to estimate how much I spend on everything else.

The last thing I wanted to try was volunteering. When I was younger my parents always had the family helping out those in need, but now that I’m older it feels like I’ve gotten so stuck in my own problems that I’ve forgotten there are other people out there hurting as well. The only problem is that most of the places I’ve checked out want volunteers during working hours, what happened to being able to volunteer on evenings and weekends? Then again hopefully I’ll have a couple of dates during the weekends.

*side note* I did try roller-blading today too and I realized that I probably should have sold those blades at the yard sale. Jilly I’m sorry for fighting you on that one, you were right.

Nothing’s broken but my pride isn’t what’s really sore right now.

20120530-234745.jpg

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Creative Motion Players
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 23:38:13

    I really recommend trying community theater out. But I’m kind of biased though, having my own theater group and all. You make some great friends and meet really interesting people. And working with community theater counts as volunteering so you can knock two off your list!

    Reply

    • greenfortunecookies
      Jun 03, 2012 @ 07:33:21

      Thank you Creative Motion Players, I never thought about community service as being volunteer work before, just thought it always looked like it would be fun. I’ll definitely have to check it out.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Il mio giornale di bordo

Il Vincitore è l'uomo che non ha rinunciato ai propri sogni.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

50 Year Project

My challenge to visit 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch the top 100 movies

Canderson Click

a canderscopic extravaganza

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

529scout

Photograph-a-holic's style diary

THE {TINY} TIMES

I'm a child. And a blogger.

Love and a Six-Foot Leash

One family's adventures with America's forgotten dogs.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

altrunomics

altruism meets economics

I Broke My Glasses Again

Taking the Hobbits to Isenguard

